Tags

, , , , , , , ,

If this were in fact a sin, you may as well imagine me a resident of the 9th circle of hell. I have done this every time I took off the lens cap since I took up photography two years ago, but I am beginning to repent of my ways, and here’s why.

When I look at my photo catalog in Lightroom, I am tempted to think, “Wow, I am a really good photographer”, but this catalog is extremely misleading. Since I have deleted all of my photos that look “bad”, either during the editing process, or in the field I have no way of really seeing what skills I need to improve upon, and I have a skewed perspective on my growth as a photographer.

If you don’t delete your photos you will be able to see how just how many misses you have each shoot. You can easily pick out trends in your photography. Are your missed photos mostly out of focus, or are you constantly under-exposing your images? Just a quick run through your catalog of images taken over the last month will be able to tell you what area of your photography you need to practice up on.

On a sidenote, if you use a program like Adobe Lightroom 3, you will be able to quickly see if you are getting stuck on a particular aperture or shutter speed since it is so easy to access your metadata with that program. I know that when I look back on my catalog during the time right after I bought my 50mm f/1.8, I shot every frame on f/1.8! I am sure I missed out on a lot of great photos by being reigned into that one aperture.

So from now on, I vow to never delete any more photos. I have plenty of room for all of them and they don’t cost me anything to keep.

Do you find that you are a deleter or a keeper? How do you think this has effected your photography? Leave a comment and let me know! Thanks and I’ll see you again on Friday.